The starting and final point: Trojičné námestie square
Route: Trojičné námestie square - Old Chateau - New Chateau - Trojičné námestie square
The walk in the town which is one of the jewels of Slovakia inscribed in the UNESCO World Natural and Cultural Heritage starts between the Trojičné and Radničné námestie squares. The Gothic St Katarína church from the end of the 15th century separates the squares.
In the centre of the Trojičné námestie square surrounded by old burgher and public buildings there is the wonderful Trinity pillar erected here in the memory of plague epidemics in 1711. The biggest building on the square is the Hallenbach House originally the seat of the Mining Court and today it houses exhibitions of the Slovak Mining Museum.
The principal dominant of the town centre is the Starý zámok, (Old Chateau), today Museum. On top of the opposite hill stands the Nový zámok (New Chateau) since 1571. The road back to town runs along “klopačka”, the ancient structure which served for calling the miners to work by knocking on a wooden board.
Source: Vydavateľstvo DAJAMA