The Town Castle in Kremnica is part of the NBS - Museum of Coins and Medals.
The castle hill is one of the locations with the earliest settlement within the town. The town castle comprises a compound of medieval buildings from the 14th through 15th centuries, protected with double fortifications to which town walls are connected. The town walls rank among the best-preserved town fortifications in Slovakia.
The Church of St. Catherine,
the patron saint of the town, is the dominant sight of the castle area.
The church, with the interior in the Neo-Gothic style, is well-known
also because of the unique organ recitals. In the 15th century, the church tower
was added, which acquired the present Renaissance appearance after a
fire in 1560. For centuries, there used to be guards who would warn
people of any danger. The guards` room is currently used for exhibition
purposes and it also offers the most beautiful view of the town and its
environs. In order to get to the exhibition, visitors have to climb 127
steps of the stone spiral stair-case.
The oldest architectural monument of the castle area and of the town in general is the ossuary from the early 14th century. The ossuary itself is accessible in the basement while the Chapel of St. Andrew with Gothic wall painting constitutes the upper part.
The museum offers to town-castle visitors also historical and art expositions in other museum premises: Baroque Plastic Art in the Town Hall, Archeological research of the Castle and Town`s Defence in the Northern Tower and Kremnica Bells and Bell Founders in the Little Clock Tower. The Miners` Bastion is part of the fortifications.The Town Castle is accessible from the Štefánikovo námestie square. Visitors with Disabled Person ID Cards can access the Caste by car, from the Zámocké námestie square through the Northern Tower.
Source: NBS - Múzeum mincí a medailí Kremnica