The starting and final point: Námestie Majstra Pavla square
Route: around the Námestie Majstra Pavla square
The walk around the Námestie Majstra Pavla square starts next to the Roman Catholic parish St James church built in the 14th century on the site of an older church. The main attraction of the church is the principal Late Gothic altar of St James. With its height of 18.6 metres it is the biggest of its kind in the world. It was made of linden wood in the workshop of Master Pavol in the years 1507-1517.
The neighbouring building of the former town hall of Levoča is the top sample of the Renaissance architecture in Slovakia. The town hall now contains the collections of the Spiš Museum dedicated to the history of the town. The Renaissance belfry and the cage of opprobrium from the 16th century complement the environs of the town hall.
The famous wood carving workshop of Maestro Pavol of Levoča has allegedly been located in the yard of house no. 20. Nowadays, it is known as the "Master Pavol´s House" and an exposition of the Spišské múzeum containing the material about the artist can be seen here.
The central square is skirted by more than 50 remarkable burgher and patrician houses. Many of them bear the names of their former owners. The Late Gothic Krupek House and Mariássy House with arcades are very interesting.
The building of Waaghaus and the neighbouring County House in the northern side of the square are also notable. The County House was among the stateliest buildings of the Kingdom of Hungary in its time. Seeing the interiors of the Renaissance Thurzo House can be a nice conclusion of the sightseeing in Levoča.
Source: Vydavateľstvo DAJAMA