Central Slovakian viticultural region

The Central Slovakian viticultural region stretches in the south of central Slovakia and consists of 7 viticultural areas (107 viticultural communes).

The basic white varieties grown here are: Müller-Thurgau, Burgundské biele, Rizling vlašský, Rizling rýnsky, Chardonnay, Veltlínske zelené, in lesser extent Tramín červený and Dievčie hrozno. Red wines are made from blue varieties of Frankovka modrá and Svätovavrinecké.

The special features of this area are viticultural huts in locality Stará hora next to the commune Sebechleby. There are more than hundred one- or two-space viticultural huts from the 18th and 19th centuries, which were included into the Monument Reserve of Popular Architecture.

Source: Vydavateľstvo Dajama