The Castle of Budatín with a strategic position at the confluence of the Váh and the Kysuca rivers is a dominant of Žilina.
The start of the construction of the stone Castle dates back to the second half of the 13th
century. Its biggest and oldest part is the bulky four-storey
cylindrical Romanesque tower with elements of the Early Gothic
architecture, which was later altered in the Renaissance style. It
stands on the site of the original water castle
guarded the important trade route to Silesia. At the beginning it was
the royal property, later it belonged to several noble families. The
period when the Castle was in the hands of the best-known Szunyogh
family is associated with a story about beautiful Katarína who was,
while still alive, walled up in the Castle based on an order from her
father. The last owners of the Castle were the Csákys who had it
reconstructed in the years 1922-23.
Despite its reconstruction, there are exhibitions in the Budatín Castle which are open all year round and contain
exhibits from the collections of the Museum of Považie – from the field
of tinker trade, natural sciences (zoology, botany, geology), history
of transport, archaeology and also the history of Žilina and its
The park that ends at the
confluence of the Váh and Kysuce rivers is also interesting with respect
to the nature and landscape. It was originally an English type of park
founded probably in the mid-19th century. Though it still contains some exotic trees.
Author: TIK mesta Žilina
Z dôvodu digitalizácie zbierkových predmetov a rekonštrukcie hradu sú expozície v areáli Budatínskoho hradu To odvolania uClosed. Budatínsky park ostáva verejnosti prístupný.
Complete pricelist to be clarified by service provider